Jacqueline Woodson

Brown Girl Dreaming
  • Brown Girl Dreaming

  • The powerful, unforgettable and multi-award-winning New York Times bestseller.

    Told in vivid and emotional poetry, this is the story of a childhood spent between New York and South Carolina, and of never truly feeling at home in either place. Of growing up as an African-American girl in the 1960s and 1970s, in the wake of the Civil Rights movement. Of discovering the first sparks of an incredible gift for writing, which would last a lifetime. And of one girl's search for her voice, her identity, and her place in the world.

    Jacqueline Woodson's memoir is the winner of a US National Book Award, a Newbery Honor, and a Coretta Scott King Award.

Jacqueline Woodson is the author of over thirty award-winning books for young adults and children; among her many accolades, she is a four-time Newbery Honor winner. She was the 2018-2019 US National Ambassador for Young People's Literature, and received the 2018 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award and the 2018 Children's Literature Legacy Award. Jacqueline won the US National Book Award for her New York Times bestselling memoir, Brown Girl Dreaming, which was also a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award and a Newbery Honor, and was a President Obama 'O' Book Club pick. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising