John Galsworthy

The Forsyte Saga
  • The Forsyte Saga

    • John Galsworthy

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    • Dirk Bogarde (Read by)

    • Diana Quick (Read by)

    • Amanda Redman (Read by)

    • Michael Williams (Read by)

    • Maurice Denham (Read by)

    • Sophie Thompson (Read by)

    • Alan Howard (Read by)

    • Michael Hordern (Read by)

    An epic BBC radio adaptation of John Galsworthy's complete Forsyte Chronicles, narrated by Dirk Bogarde and with an all-star cast

    'Hallmarked with elegance and craftsmanship' The Evening Standard

    First broadcast in 1990, this monumental adaptation of John Galsworthy's Nobel Prize-winning novel series was a radio event. It was the most expensive drama serial ever produced, featured one of the biggest, most star-studded casts and dominated the Radio 4 schedules for over 5 months, attracting over a million listeners each week.Comprising all nine books in Galsworthy's Forsyte Chronicles, it spans 50 years - from 1886 to 1936 - and tells the irresistible story of an upper-class dynasty torn apart by a terrible feud.

    Wealthy, privileged and successful, the Forsytes seem to have it all. But the disastrous marriage of Irene and Soames Forsyte, and the dire consequences of one night and the next foggy day, are to split the family for generations. As the sins of the father are visited upon the children, the younger Forsytes - from Soames' daughter Fleur to her cousin Dinny Cherrell - find themselves doomed to repeat the mistakes of the past as they experience both the pain and the promise of love. Beset by emotional disasters, domestic dramas and society scandals, can the various members of this sprawling family ever find lasting happiness?

    This sweeping tale of passion, power and money stars a host of outstanding actors, including Dirk Bogarde, Alan Howard, Michael Hordern, Diana Quick, Michael Williams, Maurice Denham, Amanda Redman and Sophie Thompson.

    Cast and credits
    Written by John Galsworthy

    The Forsyte Chronicles
    Galsworthy - Dirk Bogarde
    Old Jolyon - Michael Hordern
    Soames Forsyte - Alan Howard
    Irene - Diana Quick
    Young Jolyon - Michael Williams
    James - Maurice Denham
    Aunt Ann - Fabia Drake
    Aunt Hester - Rachel Kempson
    Aunt Juley - Renee Asherson
    June - Angela Pleasence
    Philip Bosinney - Michael Cochrane
    Swithin - David March
    Roger/Justice Bentham/Sir Luke Sharman/Adrian Cherrell - John Moffatt
    George/Monsieur Profond - Christopher Good
    Nicholas - John Gabriel
    Emily - Maxine Audley
    Winifred - Fiona Walker
    Montague Dartie/Elderson - Donald Gee
    Francie - Susan Sheridan
    Mrs Macander/Mme Lamotte/Smither/American woman - Jo Kendall
    Young Chankery - Charles Simpson
    Waterbuck, QC/Timothy/Mr Settlewhite/Hilary Cherrell - David King
    Annette - Shelley Thompson
    Holly - Elizabeth Mansfield
    Val - Dale Rapley
    Jolly - Paul Downing
    Dreamer/Francis/Francis Wilmot/Hubert Cherrell - Simon Treves
    Polteed/Gradman/Cuthbert Mothergil/Editor/Foskisson/Blore - Brian Miller
    Doctor/Lord Charles Ferrar/Lionel Cherrell/Neil Wintney/Mr Instone - James Greene
    Fleur - Amanda Redman
    Other Cast: Gary Cady, Gary Bond,Tara Dominick, Vincent Brimble, Nicholas Gilbrook, Sue Broomfield, Paul Daneman, Philip Sully, Stephen Garlick, John Bull, Danny Schiller, Belinda Lang, Jack May, Ben Onwukwe, David Bannerman, Ian Lindsay, Stuart McGuigan, Michael Kilgarriff, Catherine Furshpan, Christopher Scott, Garard Green, Mary Allen, Sophie Thompson, Dorothy Tutin, Peter Marinker, Moir Leslie, Danielle Allan, Paul Rattigan, Jack Klaff, Lois Burgess, Miranda Foster, Peter Howell, Aubrey Woods, Jody McDonald, James Warwick, David Yelland, Matthew Solon, Elizabeth Kelly, William Wortley, Henry Power, Leonard Fenton, Jenny Howe and Nigel Carrington

    Dramatised by David Spenser, Shirley Gee and Elspeth Sandys
    Directed by Janet Whitaker, Anthony Cornish and Sue Wilson
    Series producer: Janet Whitaker
    Pianist: Mary Nash

    First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 29 September 1990-2 March 1991

    ©2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

John Galsworthy (1867 – 1933) was an English novelist and playwright. Notable works include The Forsyte Saga (1906–1921) and its sequels, A Modern Comedy and End of the Chapter. He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1932.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising