A photo of a few funny children's books on a yellow and orange background

Image: Alicia Fernandes/Penguin

Little Badman and the Time-travelling Teacher of Doom by Humza Arshad & Henry White (2020)

Humza Khan, Eggington’s greatest 11-year-old rapper, is back and he’s survived killer aunties, deadly alien slugs, and double maths. Impressive, right? But there’s one scary thing Humza doesn’t want to face: his dad! He made him eat a book once as punishment. And this time, his dad is sending Humza to a special summer school in Pakistan as he believes he needs discipline. Problem is, it turns out this is no ordinary school, and someone has been messing about with time travel… This follow-up book in the Little Badman series is guaranteed to have you falling about laughing.  

The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks by Katie Kirby (2021)

Lottie Brooks may only be 11 years old, but her life is officially over. Her best friend Molly has just moved to Australia so Lottie will now have to start high school TOTALLY ALONE. Her parents treat her like a little kid. Her little brother is more popular than her. And she’s too flat-chested to wear a bra. In The Extremely Embarrassing Life of Lottie Brooks, we follow Lottie as she navigates the perils of growing up with many hilarious and awkward moments.

Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories by Jeff Kinney (2021)

Rowley Jefferson has already proved he’s a talented storyteller with Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure, and now he’s turned his hand to writing some spooky tales. There’s a boy who changes into a werewolf, a ghostly friend, and a scary scanner. But don’t be too alarmed: these stories may sound frightening, but they’re also filled with all the hilarity you know and love from the Diary of a Wimpy Kid universe.

The Accidental Diary of B. U. G. by Jen Carney (2021)

Billie Upton Green aka B. U. G. – but don’t you even think about calling her that – has started a diary in what should have been her spelling jotter. But that’s really boring. So, Billie has decided to document the daily happenings in her life and it just so happens there is a lot going on. Her mums are getting married; there’s a purse-stealing thief at her school and a new girl called Janey McVey has just started. And Janey is getting suspiciously close to Billie’s best friend Layla… Billie’s comical observations and doodles will have everyone roaring with laughter.

The Summer I Robbed a Bank by David O’Doherty & Chris Judge (2021)

Things are not going too great for Rex at the moment. His parents have split up and so for the summer holidays, he’s being sent to a very remote, very wet, sheep-inundated Irish island. The upside? He gets to stay with his brilliant and slightly odd Uncle Derm. But then it turns out that his uncle is planning on robbing the island’s travelling bank – and he wants Rex to help him! Written by comedian David O’Doherty and featuring fun illustrations by Chris Judge, this bonkers but heart-warming adventure is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.

The Puffin Book of Funny Stories (2021)

If you’re not sure what kind of funny story you want to read, try The Puffin Book of Funny Stories. There’s Joan Aiken's tale about Arabel Jones and her mischievous raven Mortimer; Humza Arshad’s Little Badman who’s trying to outrun some crazy killer aunties, and Julian Clary’s The Bolds – a totally ordinary family of hyenas who live in Teddington. And if these don’t tickle your fancy, there are seven other laugh-out-loud adventures from authors including Sam Copeland, Catherine Storr, and Rebecca Elliott.

Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares by Paul Howard & Lee Cosgrove (2021)

Not all heroes wear capes. And not all heroes can enter people's dreams after they eat some cheese. Aldrin Adams can, though. He can also enter people’s nightmares which he definitely doesn’t enjoy. Although Aldrin doesn’t understand why he has this power, he’s happy to embark on a journey of cheesy discovery, which is made easier thanks to his dad owning the biggest cheesemongers for miles around. What Aldrin doesn’t know is that evil supervillain Habeas Grusselvart has been watching him very closely… Get ready to chuckle along with this wacky adventure filled with magic, mystery, and lots of smelly cheeses!

The Carpet People by Terry Pratchett & Mark Beech (1971)

In the beginning, there was nothing but endless flatness. Then came the Carpet. And from the Carpet came people, empires, and taxes. There also came two brothers, Glurk and Snibril, who have to lead the people of their village after it is destroyed by the destructive force of the Fray. No funny book collection is complete without a story or two from master satirist, Terry Pratchett. His very first novel The Carpet People is just as fantastically funny as it was when it was released 50 years ago.

Middle School: Escape to Australia by James Patterson & Martin Chatterton (2017)

After a rare stroke of good luck, our hapless hero Rafe Khatchadorian is off on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Australia. In this tale from James Patterson’s best-selling Middle School series, Rafe must navigate the ups and downs of life in the Land Down Under from scorching sun to bloodthirsty creatures of all shapes and sizes. His host family is not very welcoming, so Rafe rallies together some oddball friends of his own in the sunny surfing town of Shark’s Bay. Escape to Australia is a laugh-a-minute madcap adventure – there’s never a dull moment when Rafe is around.

Roald Dahl's Marvellous Joke Book by Roald Dahl & Quentin Blake (2012)

Readers of all ages will be laughing until their ribs hurt at this fantabulous collection of silly stuff from one of the world's best-loved storytellers. Join Roald Dahl’s beloved cast of characters – Charlie, Matilda, the BFG and James – in a dizzying array of jokes, limericks, and riddles. Even an everlasting gobstopper won't stop you laughing!

My Brother’s Famous Bottom Makes a Splash! by Jeremy Strong & Rowan Clifford (2017)

Get ready to laugh your pants off at the latest in Jeremy Strong’s My Brother’s Famous Bottom series. In this instalment, Nicholas and his family are off on holiday to Turkey, but it’s not long before things take a turn for the outrageous: Mum’s taken up belly-dancing, Dad’s gotten into a spot of poolside bother, and Cheese and Tomato have befriended some stray turtles. Shameless summer silliness from the ‘King of Comedy’, this is an ideal read for school holidays. Bottoms up!

Invisible Emmie by Terri Libenson (2017)

This is a truly heart-warming and humorous story about two opposites: shy and artistic Emmie and the fabulous and popular Kate. The first book by cartoonist Terri Libenson accounts for all the red-faced, cringeworthy moments of middle school: gym class, dreaded pop quizzes, and of course, crushes. When the classroom bully steals Emmie’s secret note to her crush, Emmie’s and Kate’s lives unexpectedly collide. Told in a fun format of comic strips, doodles, and text, Invisible Emmie is an unforgettable book sure to be appreciated by fans of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising