Jane Corry

Jane Corry is the bestselling author of My Husband's Wife. She has kindly agreed to share the original successful covering letter she sent to her literary agent, as we know picthing your book to an agent can often be tricky. 

Dear Kate,

After my first marriage ended, I took a job as writer in residence of a high-security male prison for three years. It taught me that prisoners were very different from the stereotypes I had in my head. Towards the end of that time, I got married again. This made me think about the relationship between first and second wives. The two strands knitted themselves into an idea for My Husband's Wife.

My novel - a psychological suspense with a strong black domestic flavour - has two main female characters who tell their stories in alternative viewpoints. Lily is a young newly-married lawyer. On her first day back to work after her honeymoon, she is instructed to handle a murder appeal for a clever, charming man. Before long, she becomes convinced of his innocence. Carla is a young Italian girl who lives with her mother in the same block of flats as Lily and her new husband. The young couple help to look after her when Carla’s mother is working. The story fast-forwards fifteen years in the middle so that we then meet the grown-up Carla and a mature Lily. Carla is on a murder charge and the only person who can help is Lily. The woman whose husband she stole.

There are several twists and turns. For example, My Husband's Wife opens with a murder but the reader doesn’t know who has been killed until much later. There is also a third viewpoint in the first person. The reader knows that this person is in grave danger and is fed clues throughout the book until the identity is revealed.

My background is in journalism. I was a graduate trainee for Thomson and worked on various magazines including Woman and Woman’s Own. I have also written for The Times and Daily Telegraph.  This experience has taught me to write to a deadline and has fostered a fascination with people. I believe this – alongside my ‘taster’ of prison -  has helped me to get inside my characters.

I have also had several short stories published in women’s magazines.

I am acutely aware that you must receive several submissions but would be very grateful if you would consider the first three chapters of My Husband's Wife.

Kind regards,

Jane Corry

  • My Husband's Wife

  • FIRST COMES LOVE. THEN COMES MARRIAGE. THEN COMES MURDER.
    '100 per cent recommend to all readers' 5* Amazon review

    THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TO BESTSELLING THRILLER

    What if your life was built on a lie?

    When lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind.

    But when she takes on her first criminal case, she starts to find herself strangely drawn to her client. A man who's accused of murder. A man she will soon be willing to risk everything for.

    But is he really innocent?

    And who is she to judge?

    MY HUSBAND'S WIFE is a thriller with so many twists you won't be able to put it down, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Clare Mackintosh and C. L. Taylor.

    'A rollercoaster of dramatic twists...chilling and suspenseful' Elizabeth Haynes

    'My head's still spinning from all the twists!' Mark Edwards

    'A dark, complex and compelling thriller that kept me turning the pages until the end' B A Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors

    'Twisty, feverish and utterly gripping, My Husband's Wife is the perfect summer read' Eva Dolan

    'This thrilling page-turner kept me guessing till the very end' Katerina Diamond

    'A fantastic and powerful novel of heart-pounding suspense, expertly written to draw the reader in and never let go!' Kathryn Croft

    'I have been thoroughly immersed in this novel...full of unexpected twists I didn't see coming! '
    Luana Lewis

    'My Husband's Wife had me gripped from the first page to the last. A fascinating cast of characters, each concealing a dark secret...' Ava Marsh

    'Gripping and compelling, My Husband's Wife is a fascinating tale that you will think about long after turning the final page' Rowan Coleman

    'My Husband's Wife is a thrilling page-turner that chronicles the nightmarish dynamics within a marriage.' Sarah Ward

    'Corry has written a very impressive debut. I couldn't put it down!' LJ Ross

    'A dark and gripping thriller that vibrates with tension. Jane Corry has created an exciting and complex tale that sank its teeth into me on the first page and never let go...A must-read for thriller lovers' Kate Furnivall

    '[A] roller coaster of suspense and intrigue... A cleverly constructed novel in which we have no idea who we can trust' Rosanna Ley

    'The two strong women characters and the twists and turns of the plot will keep you on the edge of your seat right through to the surprising and shocking ending' Mavis Cheek

    'Pick up this book and you won't be able to put it down. A fast-moving story of drama, suspense and emotional entanglement with a good sprinkling of evil threaded through' Sandra Howard

    'A compelling thriller! I thoroughly enjoyed every fast turning page' Vanessa Ronan, author of The Last Days of Summer

    'A gripping page turner that twists and turns right until the very end' Catherine Alliott

  • Buy the book

Related articles